Holy Grail List

One of the things I have definitely taken away from the makeup subreddits is curating my own holy grail list. A holy grail, or HG, product is one that works perfectly for you, you always reach for and would repurchase. At the start of my makeup journey, I almost exclusively bought at Sephora, buying makeup that wasn’t only too expensive for my taste, but the wrong shades for me. I still sometimes struggle to match face products, and am planning to muster up the courage to finally go to Sephora to get my foundation matched. But at the beginning everything was either three shades too dark or two shades too light. All those pictures of family events still haunt me to this day (or should I say I haunt the pictures considering my face was a shade of white only found in ghosts.) Now I mostly shop at Ulta and Walgreens for my makeup needs, and only go to Sephora for Kat Von D liquid lipsticks and the occasional other product not sold in Ulta nor Walgreens.

There are a few categories in which I have no HG and am currently attempting to find. Those are liquid foundation, powder foundation, setting spray, and contour powder. I think that the Hard Candy setting spray might be HG, but I’ve been using the Wet n Wild and also Maybelline setting sprays so I’d need to test it out again even though I remember loving it. The current list is:

  • Primer (face): Wet n Wild Coverall Primer
  • Primer (eye): Wet n Wild PhotoFocus Eyeshadow Primer
  • Concealer: Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Eraser Dark Circle Treatment Concealer- Fair
  • Setting powder: Rimmel London Stay Matte Powder- Transparent
  • Blush: Wet n Wild Color Icon Blush- Mellow Wine
  • Highlighter: Urban Decay Afterglow 8-Hour Highlighter- Aura
  • Brow pencil: Anastasia Beverly Hills Perfect Brow Pencil- Dark Brown
  • Brow gel: Essence Make Me Brow- Browny Brows
  • Eyeliner: Hard Candy Stroke of Gorgeous Felt Tip Eyeliner-Little Black Dress, NYX Matte Liquid Liner- black
  • Mascara: Too Faced Better Than Sex mascara (the deluxe size), Covergirl Waterproof Clump Crusher (for bottom lashes)
  • Eyeshadow (palette): Anastasia Beverly Hills Modern Renaissance, Kat Von D Innerstellar (limited edition, now gone)
  • Eyeshadow (single): Makeup Geek- Blacklight
  • Lipstick (bullet): Urban Decay Vice Lipstick- 1993
  • Lipstick (liquid): Kat Von D Everlasting Liquid Lipstick- Lolita, Wet n Wild Liquid Catsuit- Give Me Mocha

Leave a Reply

