Summer Makeup: The Quest for Waterproof Products

As a very sweaty person, summer makeup is the hardest challenge of mine. I’m someone who likes to wear a full face almost every time I go out, but when it comes to being in the sun, it’s not the best idea to follow my usual everyday routine. So what do I want from makeup in the summer?

In the hotter months, my skincare routine stays about the same. I wash my face at night, sometimes in the morning, and both morning and night I use the Skinfood Peach Sake Toner and the Peach Sake Emulsion. I want makeup that’ll last through the heat, whether it be at a barbecue, the beach, or while swimming. I also want to protect my skin, so during the day time, I prefer to go completely without face makeup so that I can reapply sunscreen to my face as needed. I still like to do eye makeup, as well as lipstick. From my eye makeup, I want brows that I can’t sweat/swim away, eyeliner that stays in place, and lipstick I can easily wipe away and reapply.

So far, my most bulletproof products are my Anastasia Beverly Hills Perfect Brow Pencil in Dark Brown, Essence Clear Brow Gel, and Hard Candy Stroke of Gorgeous Eyeliner in Little Black Dress. I’m still in the market for a good mascara that’s waterproof, but so far the Covergirl Clump Crusher Waterproof is pretty decent.

I went to the beach last Sunday with my bulletproof products on, plus the Sephora Cream Lip Stain in Burnt Sienna as well as the Sephora Contour Eye Pencil Waterproof in Summer Cruise. I didn’t put my face underwater because I had my hair extensions in, but let me tell you, my makeup stayed intact ALL DAY. I was at the beach for about 5 hours, sweating and swimming, and I looked just as good when I left as I did when I arrived.

IMG_7141I felt really good at the beach in my makeup. It was an absolutely lovely time, but as the summer goes on I’ll really be putting my “waterproof” makeup to the test. Hopefully it’ll be able to stand up to regular summer activities.

Leave a Reply

